authors

Crazy

The craziest part about letting friends and family know that you’re a closet writer is that it’s not actually as horrifying as it might seem. For two years, I’ve been putting it off. I keep thinking that if I make that Facebook announcement, letting everyone I care about know that I write books for fun, they’re gonna judge me big time! I sometimes even judge myself. I look at how I spend my free time. I put my little one down for a nap, and then I settle down with a cup of coffee, and a croissant, and… type. For hours! Not going to lie, I think it sounds a little crazy even to my own ears. But, what can I say? I love writing.

Well, two days ago, I overcame my fear. I decided that if I plan on taking myself seriously about publishing, then there’s no way I’m going to make it on my own. So, I made a Facebook post to all 800+ friends, acquaintances, and family members. Guess what? Nobody laughed in my face. Nobody criticized me and told me publishing was a fantasy that would never happen. Nobody said a single negative thing. To be honest, nothing has ever felt so freeing. Not only did I feel like they were all wrapping a huge warm security blanket around me, but I felt proud. They made me feel proud of my accomplishments. They didn’t make me feel crazy at all. In fact, from that single post, I now have 3 people who have volunteered to help me edit, and 20+ people who want to be beta-readers and Amazon reviewers.

To be honest, nothing has ever felt so freeing. Not only did I feel like they were all wrapping a huge warm security blanket around me, but I felt proud. They made me feel proud of my accomplishments. They didn’t make me feel crazy at all. In fact, from that single post, I now have 3 people who have volunteered to help me edit, and 20+ people who want to be beta-readers and Amazon reviewers.

So, today, I want to encourage you to step out. Don’t be afraid of judgment because most people that love you are going to do everything in their power to support you… even if they don’t fully understand your love for writing. For example, my husband. He doesn’t do a whole lot of reading, and if he does read, it’s a biography or a “pursue your dream” kind of book. He could probably count the number of novels he’s read on a single hand. But, he’s my greatest cheerleader. He’s even mentioned that he wants to read my tragic romance novels. Haha! He’s told me numerous times how awful it seems to sit and type 5,000 words a day, but that he also feels a sense of respect for me. He’s impressed by my ability to put hours into planning a story that may or may not impact lives.

Maybe writing this blog today is a waste of my time. Maybe I’m the only person who struggled with the idea of letting the world know my hidden passion. But, I’m going to hope that there’s a least one other person out there who finds themselves stumbling over this post. I hope this is the push you need. Be brave, because it’s really not as terrifying as your mind makes it seem.

Next step, letting all these people actually read my books (now that’s the scary part!) :/

Leave a Reply

