authors

Why?

So, the question for today is why? Why self-publish instead of going traditional? When you look at all the work that goes into self-publishing it can almost compel anyone to steer clear of it, but, from what I’ve read, there’s a lot of benefits to it. The only problem… money.

I’m most certainly not loaded. Unfortunate, I know. But, I have a plan. For anyone just starting on their book, here’s a tip for you: start saving now!

From the research I’ve done, I’d say that spending around $1,000-$2,000 is considered pretty average when it comes to finding a decent editor. A good story filled with endless grammar, spelling, and plot hole mistakes is not a good story. It doesn’t matter how talented you are with your words. People are lazy and they don’t want to have to take the time to decipher your errors. Even the top grammar Nazi’s aren’t going to spot every mistake in their own work. So, here’s what I suggest…

  1. Edit the story on your own 1-2 times.
  2. Find a beta reader/critic who can point out any overlooked errors or snags in your plot.
  3. Now that some time has passed, give the story another self-edit with fresh eyes. You’ll spot things you didn’t notice the first few times around.
  4. Find a professional editor.

It seems like a lot, I know. But, these are the steps I’ve done/am doing myself and I feel like my story is far better now than it ever was when I first wrote it. I’m currently about to start step 3. Yeppy. Can’t wait to edit it… again. (That’s sarcasm if you couldn’t tell).

Now, onto my reasons for self-publishing:

  1. Freedom – I can do what I want with my book when I want, how I want, and where I want! I can change the cover anytime I want. I can adjust the price of the story anytime I want. With e-books, I can even edit the story after it’s published.
  2. Rights – Sort of goes along with #1, but it’s simply this: I own everything. I get to keep full rights to my own story.
  3. Payment – With self-publishing through Amazon, I’d be getting 35-70% royalties (depending on what I price my books at) and monthly payments (unlike traditional publishing where you typically only get 6-25% royalties and bi-annual payments)

That being said, I’m very much aware of the benefits of going tradition:

  1. Editing, formatting, marketing costs don’t have to come out of my own pocket.
  2.  Distribution and exposure – which usually means more sells.
  3. No pressure – I simply let the experts do their thing and then watch as they sell my books around the world. Pretty cool.

But!! I’ve read several testimonies from self-publishers, and none of them regret it. So, my goal is to read up on self-publishing as much as possible and then hopefully, learn from everyone else’s mistakes. Hopefully…

Leave a Reply

